Generation Black TV - Live


A person wearing a hat and vest

Description automatically generated

Barely days after surprising fans all around the world with his new collaboration with Latin superstar Becky G on the hit track ‘Cough’, award-winning global superstar KIZZ DANIEL has pulled another out of the hat by announcing the release of his long-awaited and highly anticipated fourth studio album titled MAVERICK. Arriving two years after his chart-topping Barnabas EP, which was released in November 2021 and led to Kizz Daniel being the most streamed artist in Africa for the first half of 2022, the Maverick album is set for release on July 28 via FlyBoy INC and EMPIRE.

Driven by his captivating dynamism, adept musical sensibilities, and creative vision, the 20-track Maverick offering sees Kizz Daniel pushing the envelope of creativity and innovation, while staying true to his signature sound, as he redefines artistic boundaries with unparalleled creativity. From the infectious hooks to the thought-provoking lyrics, each song on Maverick delivers a unique and unforgettable musical experience, with Kizz Daniel drawing upon his personal experiences to craft songs on this album that will resonate with listeners on a deeply emotional level.

The long-awaited album represents a ground-breaking new chapter in Kizz Daniel’s illustrious career that showcases an evolution of his musical style, and a portrait of the artistic versatility and brilliance that made him a global superstar, while promising to be a thrilling journey for his fans and music lovers all over the world. Sonically, it comes with an eclectic yet seamless list of collaborators that includes Becky G, Not3s, Yemi Alade, Jahmiel, and Nomcebo Zikode, and an esteemed ensemble of some of West Africa’s best producers such as DJ Coublon (Oxlade, Patoranking), Blaisebeatz (Chris Brown, Wizkid), Mr Soul (Rema, Omah Lay), and M.O.G Beatz (Sarkodie, Stonebwoy).

Speaking about the inspiration behind his Maverick album, Kizz Daniel says, “A lot of things have happened over the years, and I think it’s time for me to just express myself. I don’t want to prove anything to anyone on this body of work. The only thing that kept coming to my mind when we were making this album was pretty much that I want to do me, and what I know how to do, I want to make music the way I want to make music. For ‘Maverick’, it’s my expression, and I think the music will explain itself. I want to give a piece of me that I have been hiding all this while”.

Diving deeper into his thought process for making the album and calling it Maverick, Kizz Daniel adds that, “I am very passionate about this body of work, and I want it to make sense. It’s not like there’s no ‘gbedu’ there, but then, the most part of this album is actually my journey, I even have songs for my kids on the project as well. ‘Maverick’ is someone that sticks out, someone that doesn’t go with the norm, but goes their own way. I have always seen myself as a maverick from the onset, but I feel I have been shying away from that label, so I’ve decided to embrace it on this album”.


With billions of streams under his belt, two Shazam chart-topping singles, sold-out tours across Africa, North America, and Europe, and over 25 million social media fans, Kizz Daniel is one of the leading figures at the forefront of representing afrobeats on the world stage. The enigmatic musician is the epitome of an all-round entertainer with a magnetic tone, captivating lyrics, alluring stage and screen presence, and an undeniably infectious musicality, which are just some of the irrefutable characteristics of all his songs, cutting across afrobeats, pop and R&B music, from classic cut ‘Nesesari’ to chart-topper ‘Buga’ to fan-favourite ‘Cough (Odo)’, and everything in between.

Already coming off of a very eventful 2022 that saw the global music sensation achieve huge milestones of being crowned the most streamed artist in Africa for the first two quarters of the year, releasing the biggest afrobeats song of the summer with ‘Buga’, and performing at the 2022 World Cup opening ceremony in Qatar with Diplo and Calvin Harris, 2023 is already promising to be an even bigger year for Kizz Daniel, with the success of ‘Shu-Peru’, his Essence Festival headline performance, and this new collaboration with Becky G offering just a glimpse into what listeners can expect from his highly-anticipated Maverick album via FlyBoy INC and EMPIRE.


1. Red & Green

2. My G

3. Flex

4. Cough (Odo)

5. Show You Off (featuring Pryme)

6. Shu-Peru

7. Buga (Lo Lo Lo) [featuring Tekno]

8. Feran You Two (featuring Jalil and Jelani)

9. Feran Mi (featuring Johnny Drille)

10. Complicated (featuring Nomcebo Zikode, Jahmiel and Not3s)

11. E’better

12. Blood Is Thicker

13. One Dollar (featuring Blaqbonez)

14. Easy To Love (featuring Chike)

15. Pour

16. Never

17. Anchovy

18. RTID (Rich Till I Die)

19. Side Chick (featuring DJ Big N, Yemi Alade, Young Jonn)

20. Cough (featuring Becky G)





What's your reaction?